Paragliding van LeeuKop, Kaapstad, Suid-Afrika

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are now back from our holiday in South Africa 😦 but as usual we had a wonderful time, and wonderful weather.  One of my many highlights was a paragliding flight that I have been trying to work up the courage to do for  a couple of years now.  I would highly recommend it, I feel it is the more gentle of the extreme sport family, and an amazing way to see the city of Cape Town from above.

I went with ‘Fly Cape Town Paragliding’  https://flycapetown.co.za/ there are lots of companies but I had seen some Tuber`s I follow use them and so I decided to go with them.  I am glad that I did.

I had originally booked for the Monday but winds in Cape Town can be very strong and quickly changeable, and so I did`nt get to do it until the Thursday, so do bare that in mind when you book and try not to book it for the last day of your holiday otherwise you might be disappointed.  The booking process was very simple.  I went on their  website and booked a slot online.  I then received a confirmation text message and email.  It said that they would contact me on the day if it was going ahead, and if I had not heard from them an hour before the time then to contact them.  As traffic can be bad going into town to get to Signal Hill I would recommend to phone before the hour to give yourself more time to get there, I called and hour and a half before.

There were lots of other companies at the meeting point at Signal Hill car park, and it all seemed a little overwhelming at first with nerves as well, but I think as with most things in South Africa it is far more laid back than the UK and you just have to go with the flow! In the end we took off from Lion`s Head as the wind had changed.  It is quite a walk up Lion`s Head for the Paragliding and so I would say do adhere to the water and sunscreen that they advise you to bring along.  I forgot my water and although I am fairly fit I did struggle a little with the walk without it.

We did a very quick safety talk, filled in a few forms, and within ten minutes we were off! We landed in the high school at Camps Bay and then were driven back up to the car park at Signal Hill.

I hope you enjoy the below video, this was taken on a Go-Pro by ‘Fly Cape Town Paragliding’ a service that they charge extra for but is well worth getting.  My video goes a little funny at the end when I took hold of the Go-Pro, I think in my excitement I was pressing for photos rather than video!

Paragliding van LeeuKop, Kaapstad, Suid-Afrika met Fly Cape Town Paragliding https://flycapetown.co.za/

 

Leave a Reply

